Blue Card – Competent Operator


In the UK, the Construction Plant Competence Scheme (CPCS) is a widely recognized certification program for plant operators. CPCS cards demonstrate that an operator has the necessary skills and knowledge to operate construction plant equipment safely and effectively. Here’s a detailed overview of the CPCS and the process to obtain a Competent Operator Card:

Types of CPCS Cards

Red Trained Operator Card: This is an entry-level card that indicates the holder has received basic training and is competent to operate specific equipment under supervision.

Blue Competent Operator Card: This card is awarded to operators who have demonstrated advanced competence and have undergone further training and assessment. It signifies a higher level of proficiency and experience.

Steps to Obtain a CPCS Blue Competent operator Card

Experience: Gain sufficient experience operating the relevant equipment while holding a Red Trained Operator Card

NVQ/SVQ: Obtain a National Vocational Qualification (NVQ) or Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ) relevant to the type of plant machinery. This qualification demonstrates your competence in a real work environment.

Renewal of HS&E Test: Ensure you have a valid HS&E test pass, as this is required for the Blue Competent Operator Card.

Application: Submit your NVQ/SVQ and other required documentation to apply for the Blue Competent Operator Card.Card

Renewal and Upgrades

Red Trained Operator Card:Valid for two years and can be upgraded to a Blue Competent Operator Card upon obtaining the relevant NVQ/SVQ.

Blue Competent Operator Card: Valid for five years and requires periodic renewal through re-assessment and proof of continued professional development.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Blue Card – Competent Operator”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× How can I help you?